LibGuides: +Seminary Library: Library Resources

Digital Theological Library

[ DTL image ]

The Digital Theological Library (DTL) catalog is Central Seminary's main finding tool for research. The DTL is a religious, theological studies, and counseling online library of over 1.5 million eBooks and 62,000+ journals.

1. To search for books and articles, enter your Central Seminary email address and password at MyCBTS
2. Select the Digital Theological Library.
3. WAIT to receive the message "You have been successfully logged in to the DTL resources"
4. Click "Go to DTL A-Z Databases" and enter your search.

If you are unsuccessful at connecting to the DTL, try switching to the Firefox browser.

Mac
Windows

ALUMNI: Want continued access to eBooks in the DTL? Visit the Seminary Bookshelf for to see if you qualify (you or your place of ministry would need to fund a $10 monthly fee).

ATLA Religion Database

Access directions to ATLA

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (ATLAS PLUS) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest online collection of major religion and theology journals. ATLAS PLUS offers users access to a growing list of more than 425 full text titles, including all of the full text titles in ATLASerials® (ATLAS®).

Research databases not in the DTL

African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window The product of more than 10 years of organizing and collecting materials, the African American Historical Serials Collection is a complete, centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely-dispersed and endangered materials—titles were collected from 75 institutions, including small institutions that had not previously participated in preservation projects.
American Antiquarian Society, Historical Periodicals Collection, series 1-5 This link opens in a new window EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

Access directions to ATLA

ATLA Historical Monographs, series 1 and series 2 This link opens in a new window Preserved and curated by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), this collection contains more than 29,000 titles and features over 50 languages, including German, Italian, and Spanish. Topics covered include church life, demographics, doctrinal disputes, higher criticism, Judeo-Christian religions, Non-Western religions, and social movements.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
The ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest online collection of major religion and theology journals. ATLAS PLUS offers users access to a growing list of more than 425 full text titles, including all of the full text titles in ATLASerials® (ATLAS®). This collection also includes content previously available in the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®). This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Cambridge Histories Online, Religion Package This link opens in a new window First published in 1902, the Cambridge Histories is a globally respected series of over 300 volumes spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts. Presenting history as a continuous and evolutionary process, the Cambridge Histories offer a big picture perspective in each subject area, making them essential reading for anyone researching or studying a subject that has an historical element. This site allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series, searchable by author, title and subject. Continually updated with new volumes taken from the print series as soon as they become available, this collection represents an impressive breadth and depth of scholarship that offers an unmatched resource for today's historians.
EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for more than 120 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
EBSCOhost ebooks This link opens in a new window Ebooks available through the EBSCOhost platform. Primarily theology and religious studies, but other subjects available as well.

Databases from the State Library of Kansas

Statewide Resources (link connects when logged in to Central Seminary through OneLogin (My CBTS)
1) SCROLL DOWN the page
2) click General Research

ATLA login instructions

ATLA is now accessed through a 2-step verification process, which protects computer security.

Please follow the following steps:

Go to: https://libguides.cbts.edu/home
Scroll down and select ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
You should see a box like this, but with your cbts address. Click your address.

You will then see a box like this. Click “I can’t use my Outlook mobile app right now”

Choose which way you want to receive a verification code to access the database.

How to search

When logged in to the DTL, use the Advanced Search link to search by keyword, title, or author. Use the drop down menu to search by ISBN.
Filter "DTL Discovery" search results by eBook, article, date, language.
Questions?: Contact Carolyn Johnson at cjohnson@cbts.edu.

Watch a Video:

Get assistance 24/7

Librarian

Carolyn Johnson

she/hers

Email Me

Contact: