This is the "ProQuest Dissertations & Theses" page of the "Research Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Databases  

Information about and instructions on how to access the online research databases
Last Updated: May 3, 2017 URL: http://libguides.cbts.edu/research_databases Print Guide RSS Updates

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

 

ProQuest guide on using the PQDT

ProQuest has developed an extensive guide on using the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. Please consult the guide for basic and advanced searching tecnhiques.

 

About ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

With more than 2.7 million entries, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) is the database of record for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,700 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Over 70,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.

The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. The full text of more than 2 million of these titles is available in paper, microform, and electronic (if subscription allows) formats. Institutional subscribers to ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Full-Text receive online access to the complete file of dissertations in digital format starting with titles published from 1997 forward (about 1.2 million graduate works are available in PDF – as of July 2010).

PQDT offers access to the first 10% of the dissertation (up to 24 pages) for those dissertations and theses available in electronic form.

PQDT is updated weekly and features 22 indexed and searchable fields, including full text searchability.

ProQuest has seen an increase in dissertations and theses that include supplementary digital materials — audio, video, presentations, spreadsheets, etc. To properly support scholarly access to these materials, ProQuest is now making them available online in the Full Text version of the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) database.

[copied from product information sheet at http://www.proquest.com/assets/downloads/products/pqdt_product_overview.pdf]

[last updated 2012.02.24]

Question?

Submit a question to the library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip